Showing 1-13 of 13 Books
Author: Krystal Sutherland Genre: Children & Young Adults, Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Suspence & Thrillers
“A gorgeously twisted modern fairy tale that shimmers with magic and mystery, The Invocations is thrilling, irresistible, and unforgettable.” —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying Three girls, one supernatural killer on the loose . . . Zara Jones believes in magic because the alternative is too painful to consider—that her murdered sister is gone forever and there is nothing she can do about it. Rather than grieving and moving on, Zara decides she will do whatever it takes to claw her sister back from the grave—even trading in the occult. Jude Wolf may be the daughter...
Author: Kirstyn McDermott Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Burnt Sugar is a dark and evocative re-imagining of a classic fairy tale from the award-winning Kirstyn McDermott. Ideal for fans of Jane Yolen, Theodora Goss, and Catherynne M. Valente. Decades after the incident in the woods, Gretel has forged a good life in a small village, running a bakery and taking care of her brother and the stray, bedraggled women who find work as her apprentices. Business is good, and when it’s not, Gretel took more from the witch than a knack of making sweet treats and gingerbread, just as her brother returned home forever changed by the torture he experienced....
Author: Matthew Reilly Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Suspence & Thrillers
The thrilling bestseller from Australia's favourite novelist, author of the Scarecrow series and the Jack West Jr series with new novel Mr Einstein's Secretary out now. "Get ready for a wild ride" Daily Telegraph "The wildly imaginative Reilly has taken inspiration from comics, video games, thrillers and Code-style puzzle novels to create this rocket-fueled sequel" Publishers Weekly BOOK 2 IN THE JACK WEST SERIES A mysterious ceremony at a hidden location has unlocked a catastrophic countdown to world annihilation. Now, to save the world, supersoldier Jack West Jr and his loyal team of adventurers must find and rebuild a legendary device known as 'the...
Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Children & Young Adults, Fantasy & Sci-Fi
From master storyteller Melina Marchetta comes an exhilarating new fantasy springing from her celebrated epic, Finnikin of the Rock. Three years after the curse on Lumatere was lifted, Froi has found his home . . . or so he believes. Fiercely loyal to the Queen and Finnikin, Froi has been taken roughly and lovingly in hand by the Guard sworn to protect the royal family, and has learned to control his quick temper with a warrior's discipline. But when he is sent on a secretive mission to the kingdom of Charyn, nothing could have prepared him for what he finds in...
Author: Kate Grenville Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi, Historical & War
What if Elizabeth Macarthur—wife of the notorious John Macarthur, wool baron in the earliest days of Sydney—had written a shockingly frank secret memoir? And what if novelist Kate Grenville had miraculously found and published it? That’s the starting point for A Room Made of Leaves, a playful dance of possibilities between the real and the invented.   Marriage to a ruthless bully, the impulses of her heart, the search for power in a society that gave women none: this Elizabeth Macarthur manages her complicated life with spirit and passion, cunning and sly wit. Her memoir lets us hear—at last!—what one of...
Author: Kirstyn McDermott Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Winterbloom is a heart-breaking and fey re-imagining of a classic story from the award-winning Kirstyn McDermott. Ideal for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Kate Bernheimer, and Danielle Wood. Several years into their marriage, Beauty and her once beastly husband are at a crossroads. Though they still love each other, they have not been able to have children nor talk about the problems that have beset them since the fairy curse was lifted. Instead, she devotes herself to the roses in their garden while he composes music to charm the most discerning Parisian audiences. But Beauty secretly longs for the Beast with...
Author: Will Kostakis Genre: Children & Young Adults, Fantasy & Sci-Fi
WINNER OF A 2018 BOOK OF THE YEAR ABIA Bestsellers. Award-winners. Superstars. This anthology has them all. With brilliantly entertaining short stories from beloved young adult authors Amie Kaufman, Melissa Keil, Will Kostakis, Ellie Marney, Jaclyn Moriarty, Michael Pryor, Alice Pung, Gabrielle Tozer, Lili Wilkinson and Danielle Binks, this all-new collection will show the world exactly how much there is to love about Aussie YA. Harnessing the power of the #LoveOzYA social media movement, this anthology features incredible short stories from ten beloved Australian YA authors. MORE AWARDS Winner - 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards (Older Children) Shortlisted - 2018...
Author: Kirstyn McDermott Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
By the Moon’s Good Grace is a wild and gothic re-imagining of a classic story from the award-winning Kirstyn McDermott. Ideal for fans of Kelly Link, Angela Carter, and Catherynne M. Valente. The night after the tumultuous events at her grandmother’s house, Little Red ventures into the woods to find her missing grandmother. Instead, she discovers a stranger who claims to be her aunt…and learns a startling secret. Her family are wolves, changing form in phase with the moon, and the beast slain in grandmother’s cottage means she’ll not be home again. With the full moon overhead, Red learns she can...
Author: Kirstyn McDermott Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
After Midnight is a tale of royalty, bloodlines, and royal slippers from the award-winning Kirstyn McDermott, sure to appeal to fans of Catherynne M. Valente and Theodora Goss. The Queen who’d once swept up the cinders is exiled to a distant wing of the palace, replaced by a younger, prettier girl who can bear her King an heir. Unwilling to accept the rapid deterioration of her power and desperately clinging to fraying strands of sanity, the exiled Queen journals the choices that led to her sorry state… and those she must make in order to reclaim her rightful place in the...
Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Winner of the 2010 Commonwealth Writers’ Prize Best First Book and longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. 'When Macha Connor came home from the war she walked into town as naked as the day she was born, except for well-worn and shining boots, a dusty slouch hat, and the .303 rifle she held across her waist.' Macha patrols Siddon Rock by night, watching over the town's inhabitants: Brigid, Granna, and all of the Aberline clan; Alistair in Meakin's Haberdashery, with his fine sense of style; Sybil, scrubbing away at the bloodstains in her father's butcher shop; Reverend Siggy, afraid of...
Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Children & Young Adults, Fantasy & Sci-Fi
Internationally bestselling and award-winning author Melina Marchetta weaves an accomplished and breathtaking blend of love, suspense and adventure in this unforgettable final volume in her epic fantasy series, The Lumatere Chronicles. Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child's right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face to face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. A dramatic...
Author: Matthew Reilly Genre: Fantasy & Sci-Fi
The no. 1 bestseller from Australia's favourite novelist, author of the Scarecrow series and the Jack West Jr series with new novel Mr Einstein's Secretary out now. 'Audacious and staggeringly imaginative' - Weekend Australian THE END IS HERE Jack West Jr has made it to the Supreme Labyrinth. Now he faces one last race - against multiple rivals, against time, against the collapse of the universe itself - a headlong race that will end at a throne inside the fabled labyrinth. AN IMPOSSIBLE MAZE But the road will be hard. For this is a maze like no other: a maze of mazes. Uncompromising...
Author: Melina Marchetta Genre: Children & Young Adults, Fantasy & Sci-Fi
2008 Printz Award Winner Melina Marchetta crafts an epic fantasy of ancient magic, exile, feudal intrigue, and romance that rivets from the first page. Finnikin was only a child during the five days of the unspeakable, when the royal family of Lumatere were brutally murdered, and an imposter seized the throne. Now a curse binds all who remain inside Lumatere’s walls, and those who escaped roam the surrounding lands as exiles, persecuted and despairing, dying by the thousands in fever camps. In a narrative crackling with the tension of an imminent storm, Finnikin, now on the cusp of manhood, is...